UK's Natural Therapies Website
e.g. yoga, naturopath
e.g. Town name or city

Visit us on Facebook

Hitwise Award Winner


eg. Town Name Or City Name



The aura is an energy field  that surrounds each and every person.  Every person’s aura is different, and the aura provides the energy that is responsible for sustaining the human body.  Read on to find out more about auras.

What is an Aura?

The term “aura” refers to the energy fields that surround a person or an object.  The field is seen as an outline of colour and can represent soul vibrations, chakric emergence, or a reflection of other surrounding energy fields.  The aura is shaped like an egg and contains every colour imaginable, including those that exist outside of the visible colour spectrum.  It is generally recognised that the aura has seven layers but most people are only about to see three – the ones that are closest to the physical body.  The outer layers are concerned with the soul and spirit while the inner layers relate to the mind, emotions and health.

The aura not only surrounds you externally, it moves within the body as well.  Auras vibrate on different light, colour, and sound frequencies, and the colour spectrum varies according to the person’s physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual states.  There is usually more than one colour present in the aura at any one time.  The aura can extend a long way from the body, or remain close.  In the latter situation, the person is usually protecting themselves from someone or something.

Reading the Aura

Reading auras is useful for many things including determining whether you should confront a person at a certain time; what you can do to improve your current condition; tune you in to illnesses and conditions around you, as well as much more.  In fact, every time you come into contact with a person, your aura will react with theirs.  If you have a similar frequency, you will feel drawn to them.  If it is not, you may feel an instant dislike. 

It is possible to learn to read the aura. Firstly, you will need an area where there is soft light.  You will also need a piece of white paper that is large enough to place your whole hand on.  Put your hand on the paper and relax your eyes.  Don’t stare at the hand; rather, look at the area around the fingertips and fingers.  After a while, you will start to see a soft haze around your hand, and if you look for long enough, you will be able to see colours.  Beginners can usually only see one colour but as you become more practiced; you will be able to see more at one time.  Don’t be discouraged if you don’t see anything the first few times as it does take practice. 

Colours within the Aura

The common colours that you can see in the aura include:

  • Red – strength, strong passion, and will.  Dark red can symbolise a person with a quick temper and who is nervous or impulsive, although all shades of red relates to nervous tendencies.
  • Orange – warmth, thoughtfulness, and creativity.  Muddier oranges can show pride or vanity while golden orange shows self-control.
  • Yellow – mental activity, optimism, and it can mean new learning opportunities and wisdom.  Golden yellow can show that someone looks after themselves while ruddy yellow can mean that the person is shy.
  • Green – sympathy, calm.  Someone with green in their aura may be good at the healing arts and is very reliable.  Dark shades of green can indicate jealousy or uncertainty.
  • Blue – quiet, calm.  Any blue in the aura is good but deep blue is the best as it shows someone that has found their work in life.  Blue can also show a tendency for moodiness or depression.
  • Indigo/violet – show someone that is looking for something in life. They represent an ability to handle affairs with worldliness and practicality.
  • Black – the colour of protection, and it can show a person that is hiding something.  It can also indicate imbalances.
  • Pink – the colour of love and it represents compassion, and possibly a love of art and beauty.  Darker or muddier shades can show immaturity.
  • White – this is often one of the first colours that you see in the aura.  However, when it is a true colour, it shows purity and truth.
  • Brown – can show a person who is earthy, establishing new roots, or centred within themselves or their surroundings.  However, in the chakras, it can represent blocked energy.

  Printer Friendly Version

Related Modalities

  Crystal Therapy
  Energy Healing
  Reconnective Healing
  Spiritual Healing
  Theta Healing